Shabbat 90 – Wrong butterfly?

I am playing catch up after a fabulous weekend celebrating my son’s Bar Mitzvah.

I was learning the daf last week in my office when a colleague noticed a picture of a butterfly (daf 90a). I explained that the Koren was an amazing work of academia which seeks to clarify obscure language etc found in the Talmud. He asked how they described the butterfly and I responded that it was the Virachola livia. He told me this was wrong.

After some further research we confirmed that the picture on the daf (see below) is in fact the painted lady and not as described by Koren. So readers always beware and confirm the research of others. Perhaps this is one for Rabbi Nathan Slifkin to confirm for us?

IMG_0079

About bookabazza

I am an Osteopath and University Lecturer who is trying to keep up with the 7 year daf yomi cycle. I thought I would try and share a few small thought on the daf each week.
This entry was posted in Shabbat and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shabbat 90 – Wrong butterfly?

  1. bookabazza says:

    I have confirmed this is a mistake with Rabbi Nathan Slifkin (the ‘Zoo Rabbi’) who will be helping Koren with future volumes as their consultant on all things animal in the talmud – good luck Rabbi Slifkin and thanks for clarifying for me.

Leave a Reply

