Shabbat 81 – Zunin – whats in a name?

Whenever I come across an interesting/unusual name in the Talmud I am pleased to note that the Koren often gives us some insight into the name.

On daf 81a we are told the opinion of a sage named Zunin. The Koren notes (I am attaching an image as it is easier to include the Greek this way).

Amazingly the sage not only had a Greek name but one that meant “Gift from Zeus”!

IMG_0077

 

 

 

About bookabazza

I am an Osteopath and University Lecturer who is trying to keep up with the 7 year daf yomi cycle. I thought I would try and share a few small thought on the daf each week.
This entry was posted in Shabbat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

