Shabbat 52 – We can’t know everything!

The Red Heifer is the quentessential Chok in the Torah. The commandment from God for which we have no understanding, no rationale.

Today’s daf mentions it in passing and it made me think that we live in a world where we can know everything instantaneously. When my computer was not designed to be taken apart, I watched a youtube video on how to do it. When I have any  question I can ‘google it’ and have millions of answers in less than a second!

However when it comes to religion, to belief and an understanding of God we are simply unable to fathom the what or why things are the way they are. Even King Solomon could not understand the workings of the Red Heifer.

It is when I think of these unfathomables that I take comfort from the philosophical approach of the Rambam. He tells us that some things are simply beyond us. That our language, lashon b’nei adam (the language of man) is simply not great enough to understand everything. We are limited and we therefore cannot understand the infinite.

Somehow this give me, the rationalist, comfort, where grappling with the problem would only give me a headache!

About bookabazza

I am an Osteopath and University Lecturer who is trying to keep up with the 7 year daf yomi cycle. I thought I would try and share a few small thought on the daf each week.
This entry was posted in Shabbat and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

